top of page

About Us

Our Mission

The AWCC is a neighborhood center where all people’s positive self-worth can be realized, seeking always to maximize both individual potential and community empowerment. Amarillo Wesley Community Center strives to respond to the expressed needs of the community through a program of educational, recreational, and spiritual activities for children, youth, and adults of all races and faiths.

Our Story

Amarillo Wesley Community Center (AWCC) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit agency established in 1951. Historically, Mrs. Maria Fields and a group of volunteer women from Polk Street United Methodist Church began providing sewing classes, English as a Second Language classes, arts and crafts, athletic activities for youth, and day care services in Amarillo’s Barrio neighborhood. Former Executive Director Jacinto Alderete served at the Center for 32 years and did much of the work to produce the Center we have today located at 1615 S. Roberts St. Following Mr. Alderete, Mrs. Belinda Gonzalez Taylor served for 15 years and implemented programs such as the “Behind the Scenes” Modeling and Mentoring Program, Wesley Club Wrestling, and Mental Health Counseling and Play Therapy Services. Liz Rascón Alaniz currently serves as Executive Director and has focused her efforts on sustainability, capacity building, capital improvements, and the new South Campus.


AWCC—South Campus was first established January of 2020. This location is in the former Kingswood United Methodist Church, 4801 South Austin Street. Kingswood United Methodist Church was built in September of 1960. This building was given to AWCC as a legacy gift under the leadership of former Senior Pastor at Kingswood United Methodist Church, Reverend Toni Bailey and former District Superintendent of the United Methodist Church, Reverend Felicia Hopkins. This Center will offer day and evening childcare, an after-school program, and a Senior Citizens' program.

Wesley Staff

Board of Directors

Dixie Surratt




Walter Webb


Pam Zwickey


Robert Ruiz

Adam Stone

Manny De Los Santos

Raymond Gaitan

Chris Villegas

Rev. Darren Skinner

Melissa Smith

Rebecca Harp

Rita Wynn

Nancy Moore

Caylar Harper

Jeremy Herrera

Jason McCoy

Foundation Board Members

Daniel Martinez, President
Abe Lopez

George Veloz

Richard Gower

Todd Wetsel

Steve Rubio

Walter Webb, Liaison

bottom of page